Covid-19 protocols for by polls

1000 voters allowed per polling station

Staff Reporter

Shillong, March 23: With Covid-19 protocols in place, the Election Commission of India is creating 17 auxiliary polling stations for the by-polls to Mawryngkneng and Rajabala assembly constituencies.

Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkongor today said as per the new protocol, the number of electors is to be restricted to within one thousand, so in those polling stations where the number is nearing one thousand or exceeding it there will be auxiliary polling stations.

Stating that this is in conformity and consistent with the ECI Covid-19 protocols, Kharkongor said, “….in Mawryngkneng we have six new auxiliary polling stations for those polling stations which have exceeded one thousand and in Tura we have got the approval of ECI for the creation of 11 auxiliary polling stations.”

“We are basically relocating some electorate into these auxiliary polling stations which will be in different locations within the same campus,” he added. 

To cast their vote, the electors have to wear disposable gloves and masks as part of the protocol.

Meanwhile, considering the monsoon factor, especially with regard to the low lying areas in Rajabala, the state election department has briefed the ECI about it.

The state Election department has made all necessary arrangements for the upcoming bypolls and is now awaiting the announcement of the poll schedule by the ECI.

Kharkongor said that he held review meetings with the DC and SP of West Garo Hills today through video conferencing about the preparedness.